PHILADELPHIA – The University of Pennsylvania women’s lacrosse team placed a pair of players, Erin Barry and Gabby Rosenzweig, on the initial Tewaaraton Award watch list. Barry and Rosenzweig are no strangers to college lacrosse’s top individual award, having been named to the preseason watch list before.

The Tewaaraton Award is given annually to the most outstanding college lacrosse player. The 20th annual Tewaaraton Award Ceremony will be held May 28, 2020 at the Smithsonian Institution’s National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C.

Barry lands on the watch list for the second consecutive season after another extraordinary campaign in which she garnered IWLCA third-team All-America, IWLCA first-team All-Region, Inside Lacrosse honorable mention All-America, Ivy League Midfielder of the Year and unanimous first-team All-Ivy honors as a junior. Barry, a midfielder with a nonstop engine and determination to control the entire field, started all 18 games for Penn as a junior, finished second on the team with 37 goals, third in points with 43 and third in ground balls with 35.

For her career, Barry ranks sixth in program history with 112 goals, 13th with 137 points and is one of just three Quakers to be named the Ivy’s Midfielder of the Year.

Rosenzweig is on the watch list for the third straight season and, in both her sophomore and junior campaigns, was named as one of the final 25 nominees for the Tewaaraton Award in April. The senior attacker is a two-time IWLCA third-team All-American, a two-time IWLCA first-team All-Region pick and two-time first-team All-Ivy selection, picked unanimously last season as a junior. Like Barry, Rosenzweig started all 18 games last year, setting the single-season scoring record with 98 points while also setting the assist record with a team-high 63. Her 98 points were the most in the Ivy League since 1983, ranking third overall, and finished seventh in the country in points and assists per game.

The senior will go down as one of, if not the best statistical player in program history. Already with 225 career points, Rosenzweig is only 12 points from owning the program’s record and, with 115 career assists, just 12 helpers away from matching that record. Rosenzweig owns the top-two single-season totals for points in a season, totaling 98 last year and 85 as a sophomore. In addition to holding the record for most assists in a season, her sophomore year ranks fourth in both goals (49) and assists (36).

The Quakers, who enter the 2020 campaign nationally ranked No. 9 by Nike/US Lacrosse, No. 12 by IWLCA and No. 15 by Inside Lacrosse, open the season at No. 19/20 Georgetown on Saturday, Feb. 15 in Washington, D.C.

Click to go to the full article.

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Sammy Mueller (Pelham, N.Y.) is one of 50 women’s lacrosse players named to the initial 2020 Tewaaraton Award Watch List, the organization announced on Tuesday.

Mueller was a Top 25 nominee last season for the award. A two-time All-American and First Team All-ACC player the last two seasons, she led the Cavaliers with 72 points on 48 goals and 24 assists in 2019. She also picked up 80 draw controls, 57 ground balls and 27 caused turnovers. Mueller enters 2020 eight all-time at UVA with 144 goals and fifth all-time with 175 draw controls.

The Tewaaraton Award annually honors the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. The selection committees are made up of premier collegiate coaches and are appointed annually by The Tewaaraton Foundation.

Click here to see the full article.

WASHINGTON – The Tewaaraton Foundation announced 50 watch list candidates for this year’s women’s lacrosse Tewaaraton Award on Thursday evening, with Loyola University Maryland juniors Livy Rosenzweig and Sam Fiedler both receiving recognition.

The Tewaaraton Award annually honors the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. The selection committees are made up of premier collegiate coaches and are appointed annually by the Tewaaraton Foundation. The watch lists include the top players across all three divisions of NCAA lacrosse and highlight the early contenders for this year’s award.

Rosenzweig (Katonah, N.Y./Somers) was one of 25 semifinalists for the award during her sophomore season last spring. She ultimately earned first team IWLCA All-America accolades after totaling 116 points (46 G, 70 A), 85 draw controls, 23 ground balls and 13 caused turnovers. Her points and assist totals were both school records, and she finished the year ranked third nationally in assists and fourth in points.

Rosenzweig has totaled 101 goals and 117 assists through her first 42 collegiate games. She has totaled 4+ points in 35 of 42 contests and has 21 career hat tricks. Rosenzweig enters this season already ranked fourth in program history in both assists and draw controls (174), and she is currently ninth all-time in points (218).

Fiedler (Reisterstown, Md./Garrison Forest) had a breakout season in her first year as a starter last spring, registering 53 goals and 26 assists while leading the nation in shot percentage (.671). She also topped all Patriot League performers with 53 ground balls and added 15 caused turnovers. With 83 career goals, Fiedler is just 17 away from becoming the 32nd Greyhound in team history to reach the century mark.

Fiedler had a team-high 10 hat tricks in 2019. She enters this season with points in 35-straight games and a goal in 33-straight contests, both of which are the longest active streaks on the team. Fielder was a second team IWLCA All-Region and a first team All-Patriot League honoree a year ago.

The Tewaaraton Award has been given annually since 2001, when Loyola head coach Jen Adams became the first winner following her senior season at Maryland.

The Greyhounds, who were ranked No. 11 in the IWLCA preseason coaches’ poll, kick off their 2020 season on Saturday afternoon with a 12 p.m. home contest against No. 24 Johns Hopkins.

Click here to go to the full article.